Samoa Tourism Authority

Brief History:

The Statutory Body was called the Samoa Visitors Bureau when it was first established in 1986 following the passing of the Samoa Visitors Bureau Act in 1984 with Amendments incorporated in 1998 and 2002 changing the entity’s name to the Samoa Tourism Authority to align its focus with the development of tourism in Samoa and the Office of the Minister of Tourism as it is now legislated and mandated in the Samoa Tourism Development Act 2012.

Organisational Structure:

The Samoa Tourism Authority has a Board of Directors with membership comprising of seven representatives from the Tourism Private Sector to conform with the Tourism Development Act 2012 and the Public Bodies Act 2001.