Finance for Pacific Ocean Governance (Part 1: Background)
October 8, 2018
International Tourism Maintains Strong Momentum
October 11, 2018
Show all

‘My Fiji Shark’ is a collaborative venture between Beqa Adventure Divers ‘BAD’; the United Nations Development Programme ‘UNDP’ & the South Pacific Tourism Organization  ‘SPTO’  who have created this project in order to achieve the shark research, management and conservation goals they all share.

‘My Fiji Shark’ is a shark adoption program.  

The sharks offered for adoption are resident to Fiji and consistent visitors to the Shark Reef Marine Reserve (SRMR).  While there are over 200 individually named sharks,  around 50 of them visit on a frequent basis, and so are being offered for adoption. When you ‘adopt’ a shark, you adopt an individual: one with a name, a personality and a history.  By adopting a Fijian Shark, not only will you learn about shark behaviour and shark biology but you become a vital part of the ongoing support and advocacy for these misunderstood animals.

The revenues generated from ‘My Fiji Shark’ will be used to support existing shark conservation measures; fund research; purchase research materials; create new shark conservation and inshore fisheries management programs; and build an independent Shark Lab to conduct in-country shark conservation research.  We also aim to assist government if and when they will implement their voluntary commitments made at the UN Ocean Conference.

Shark ID

Only a handful of sharks can be ‘named’ during any given year. 

To be given a ‘name’ they must exhibit a permanent identifiable mark, injury or genetic feature which would enable them to be recognized during the dives, monitored and entered into the scientific data base of the Marine Park.  On each shark dive, BAD’s staff marine biologists observe and record which named sharks are present, their interactions, feeding behaviors and physical attributes notating injuries, pregnancies, mating scars and more. 

The Shark Dive

The Shark Dive takes place in SRMR 5 days a week.

The Shark Dive is 3 levels of diving, with feeding occurring at each level.   At the deepest levels are the Bull Sharks; mid-level are Grey Reef and Whitetip Reef Sharks; on the top of the reef are Whitetip and Blacktip Reef Sharks. While it is possible to see up to 8 species of sharks on a single dive, members of these 4 species are present on a daily basis while Tawny Nurse, Sickle-Fin Lemon, Silvertip and Tiger Sharks are less frequent visitors to SRMR.

Feeding Behaviors

The sharks display an array of feeding behaviors.

There are 3 types of feeding behaviors: hand-feeding, aerial feeding, and substrate feeding.  Hand-feeders will take tuna directly from the dive masters; aerial feeders will compete for tuna mid-water as it is dropped from a suspended bin; and substrate feeders will retrieve tuna which has fallen to the ocean floor.  Sharks can specialize in a feeding behavior, exhibit a combination of 2 behaviors, or even be a generalized feeder displaying all 3 behaviors.  Some of our sharks learn by patterning their behaviour and observing other sharks, while others work on perfecting their technique, and others never progress at all.  So it is not uncommon for younger sharks to add to their repertoire of feeding behaviours the longer they visit SRMR.

Shark Personalities 

Our sharks each have unique personalities, much like you and I.  Some individuals have been visiting SRMR for over 15 years, while others have just begun.  Our sharks display characteristics of being shy, outgoing, inquisitive, friendly, dominant, playful, sneaky,  quick witted and more.  Moreover, their personalities and behaviours evolve as they grow older and continue to frequent the SRMR.  We are in a unique position to share this qualities 

with you and to introduce you to side of sharks you have never known before.

Shark Ranks

Our Sharks offered for adoption are separated into 3 ranks.

Shark Stars 

Shark Stars are very special and memorable individuals.   Shark Stars are offered at the baseline price of all the Adoption Tiers.  

There are no limits on the number of adoptions of a Shark Star per calendar year.

Shark Superstar

Shark Superstars exhibit unique qualities and hold a special place in the hearts of the BAD dive staff.  Shark Superstars are twice the price of any Adoption Tier.  

Shark Superstars are only available for 10 adoptions per year. 

Shark Icon

Shark Icons are our most dynamic sharks.  They have exquisite character traits and personalities and adored by BAD’s dive staff and clients alike.  

Shark Icons are triple the price of each Adoption Tier and are only available for three adoptions per year.


Adoptions are for one calendar year.  

For the general public there are 7 Adoption Tiers to choose from, whether you want emailed updates of your shark, video clips or to come and see your shark up close and personal here at the Shark Reef Marine Reserve in beautiful Fiji!  

Are you a corporate sponsor?

Allow us to customize a package tailored to your specific needs by contacting our Program Coordinator at

​So what are you waiting for?